Many the Miles

During field hockey preseason, I dreaded running the timed mile. I remember the anxiety I’d feel beforehand, the agony I’d feel on the second lap around the track when I realized I’m not even halfway there, and the soreness I’d feel the next day (so much so that we termed that intense level of pain “preseason sore”). I remember watching the cross country team and being unable to comprehend how they could possibly just enjoy running . No game or rules or sticks involved, nothing to distract them from the fact that they’re running. Just running to run.

And now, 7 years later, I’ve voluntarily signed up to run 13.1 miles – a half marathon.  I’ve been running 3 times a week for the past 3 months, slowly increasing my distance. I’ve paid to run in a variety of 5k races. Sometimes I even wake up at 6 in the morning to run before work. VOLUNTARILY! And I don’t even hate it! I don’t know if my 17 year old self would be shocked, disgusted, or proud.

But here we are. Many the Miles will be a place for me to keep track of my journey as a runner, and more broadly my journey as a girl in her mid-twenties living in Boston (in sin), trying to live a healthy lifestyle, be a real person from 9-5, and have fun along the way.

Enjoy the ride!

Leave a Reply

