Weekend Recap: #FOMO, 11.5 and The Fox

There are some Mondays where you feel at peace with the weekend being over and you wake up ready to take on the week. This was not one of those Mondays. I don’t know if it’s the increasingly chilly weather or the fact that my weekend was so nice and relaxing, but getting out of bed this morning was brutal.

I’ve noticed over the past few years, my FOMO has subsided. I don’t feel the need to go out every Friday and Saturday night. I’m naturally a social person, but I don’t feel anxiety anymore about missing a night out to go to bed early. This weekend I caught up on DVR, went grocery shopping, did laundry, went for my longest run so far (11.5 miles – woop woop!), did the Making Strides for Breast Cancer walk (in the rain) and watched football took a nap on the couch with the boy and our dog-for-the-weekend. On paper, that sounds so ridiculously boring, but I loved every minute of it. And that, folks, is how you know you’re growing up.

This change could be related to my recent shacking up with the boy, but I also think a big part of it is running. If I go out the night before, running the next day is going to be that much harder – or I may be so hungover I blow off running all together. Apparently those vodka sodas hit you a lot harder the morning after once you enter your mid-twenties. I guess it’s more about realizing what’s important and making those things more of a priority. I love the occasional ridiculous night out as much as the next girl, but I just don’t have time anymore to lay in bed until 4 p.m. every Saturday afternoon – I got ish to do!

Some highlights from this weekend’s long run:

Image

– Soaking up the autumn sun (it was the perfect running temperature) and changing colors of the trees. Contrary to popular belief, we get some sweet foliage even in the city.

– Running into (literally) an old high school friend.

– Making a pit stop mid-run into City Sports to buy this bad boy. Cheers to not being dehydrated anymore on long runs – and to 20% off for students! (Not sure how much longer I can play the student card here, but I’m just gonna ride it out.)

– The coolest Labrador Retriever running off a dock and catching a Frisbee in mid-air before landing in the water.

– Even though it wasn’t lit up because it was daytime, this looked awesome. Such a cool concept. I also happened to be decked out head to toe in Lucy gear at the time.

– RunKeeper interrupting my beats to tell me I’d ran over 10.5 miles. I may or may not have done a fist pump and yelled “YES!” out loud, running up Beacon St. Completing this run was the first time I felt completely confident in my ability to finish the half.

– Coming home and having a boyfriend AND puppy greet you at the door! We dogsat my friend’s Shiba Inu (commonly mistaken for a fox, as we quickly found out) while they were at a wedding this weekend. It was supposed to be a mini-trial to see if we’re ready to get a puppy of our own. Good news is this dog was the easiest, most low-maintenance creature I’ve ever encountered – he doesn’t even bark! Bad news is it was a terrible trial because our expectations for this future puppy (that we’ve already named) are now completely skewed.

Image

Leave a Reply

