It Takes a Village

The past 24 hours have been a whirlwind, to say the least. I don’t think I’ve had time to actually process anything and probably won’t for awhile because things don’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon (in a good way). The one thing that has had time to set in after finishing my half marathon and performing in the OnStage Choreographer Showcase yesterday is the overwhelming power support and love from others can have. Yes, you need to be motivated and determined from within to accomplish or overcome something, but I never realized what a big role external support plays in helping you achieve something you never thought possible. You can’t do it alone. Or maybe you can, but I certainly cannot.

Whether it was the texts I got leading up to the race, swapping tips and words of encouragement with old high school friends and strangers at the start line, my parents meeting me along the way with Gatorade, jelly beans and hugs, each song on my playlist that was hand selected by a friend or family member, my boyfriend driving 4 hours from NJ to be at the finish line, the “likes” on Facebook, or the cheers and applause I got from my fellow dancers when I nervously stood up there and said this is my first season choreographing,  it was all exactly what I needed to keep going! And while it may seem like a simple gesture, it goes so much further than you know. So while I feel pride for accomplishing two big goals yesterday, the more overwhelming feeling is gratitude for the special people I have in my life.

While I was trying to overcome my 13.1 miles, I was virtually motivated by what my colleague Phil was doing, who has supported me every step of the way on my journey to becoming a runner. He completed his first Ultra (100 miles) race this weekend. That’s not a typo – 100 MILES! That doesn’t seem like it’s something that should be humanly possible, but he did it. And he did it with the support of his family, running team colleagues, members of the rare disease community and 8 angels taped to his chest. You can read more about Phil’s insane accomplishment here and here.

I’ve even noticed this kind of love and support within my short time as a blogger. Encouragement from others fuels you to keep writing, you pay forward the support by liking or commenting on someone else’s blog, which pushes them to keep going and the circle of love continues on and on. The positivity is contagious and I’m not sure some of the amazing achievements we’re capable of would be possible without it.

So keep spreading  the love while I peace out for a much needed island getaway with the boy! Byeeee! 🙂

photo 33

photo 11

photo 32

photo 25

photo 22

photo 23

photo 5

photo 21

Leave a Reply

