You Always Win, NYC…

2-day hangovers, apparently a real thing when you hit your mid-twenties. I went to NYC this past weekend to celebrate my high school friend’s birthday and we partied like we were celebrating his 19th birthday, not his 26th. A group of around 20 of us went downtown to Canal Room Saturday night to see the 80’s cover band, Jessie’s Girl. At first, I wasn’t totally sold on it. Long cab ride, $20 cover, expensive drinks, typical NYC. But once the band got going (they were ah-mazing), it was one of the best nights I’ve had in a while. Our group took over the majority of the dance floor with our typical hometown debauchery and naturally, ended the show on stage with the band.
One thing I’ve learned from my visits to NYC is you can never accomplish as much as you want to in a day. Every visit, I have a list of things I want to do and places I want to see and every time, I only accomplish one. So in addition to brunches around the city (a must), we decided to make our “one thing” a visit to the 9/11 Memorial and Tribute Center. It was depressing and emotionally exhausting, but well worth the visit. You’ve seen the pictures and videos, but being at ground zero just drives home how extensive the buildings, damage and overall tragedy was. The memorial itself is perfect – it’s a simple design but so impactful. There’s a lot of security and chaos to get into it, which is understandable given it’s still a major construction zone, but I hope eventually that can go away and the walls can be taken down and it can be a place of solace for people to grieve and remember.
ImageImageImage
Image
Image
Image
Leave a Reply

